Philippine Standard Time


PHIVOLCS conducted a six-day training entitled "Mainstreaming of Disaster Risk Reduction into the Local Development Planning Process, Contingency Planning, and Emergency Preparedness through the Provision and Use of the REDAS Software" for Baguio City last December 5 - 10, 2016. The training was held at Prime Hotel, Baguio City. The goal of the training was to provide and familiarize the participants with the capability of the REDAS Software, especially the modules which are designed to be used for risk assessment.

There was a total of 38 participants during the training. Thirty (30) of them came from the city offices of Baguio City, 1 from Saint Louis University, 2 from the University of Baguio, 2 from University of the Cordilleras, 2 from BENECO and 1 from NEDA - CAR. The participants were provided with REDAS version 2.9b. A total of 39 REDAS software license keys was issued during the said event.

The first day of the training covered the introduction of PHIVOLCS, installation and orientation on the basic features of REDAS Software and basic map reading. The succeeding days of the training covered lectures ranging from Building Risk Database, Earthquake Risk Assessment, the use of SQLite as a Relational and Spatial Database System, and Seismic Hazard Assessment. The new modules for Severe Wind Risk (SWIFT) and Flood Risk (FLOAT) were also incorporated in the training. In addition, software such as Exposure Database Module (EDM), SQLite and Quantum GIS, and the EDM and MyTracks in Android devices were also installed during the training. The participants were taught how to use the EDM in Android Devices for conducting building survey. Different earthquake risk assessment methodologies and computations were also taught in the training, as well as identifying building earthquake damage levels for conducting earthquake risk assessment.

Speakers and facilitators during the training were Maria Leonila P. Bautista, Angelito G. Lanuza, Rhommel N. Grutas, Robjunelieaaa Lim, Emmanuelle Mitiam, Mary Ann T. Montion, Anne Lorraine T. Delos Santos, Ruffy R. Villanueva, Dave Andrei V. Rivera, Greggue Ann Lyza T. Castro, Hilario Esperanza (PAGASA), Clint Drexel M. Ongue, and Joana C. Umbaña.